Holy, spray paint!

I originally saw this idea on Pinterest and I just knew, I had to do it. I already had one vase lying around that I knew one day I could use again (the big brown one). The others I got at a local thrift store (the little glass one .30 cents) and at a local garage sale last weekend. Luckily, my dad is a “collector”. He even collects trash, yes recycled trash. He goes down to the local recycler (his in Martinez, CA) and picks up FREE cans of spray paint (among many other ‘useful’ items). I gave him a call and asked if he could bring by some colors in the yellow, gray and blue families and anything else “fun” on his next visit up to see the kiddos.

Two days later, he showed up with a box of options. He has over 1,000 to choose from and I was very pleased with the assortment he gave me. I then called up my friend, and fellow crafter/blogger, Molly, to see if she wanted to have a spray paint playdate. Our daughters are BFF’s so we thought we could swing it. After lots and LOTS of child neglect, a bag of popcorn and a movie, and 3 meltdowns later, we had finished. I will say that they look better from a far (I had some issues with the spray paint clogging and running out before all coats), but all-in-all a win.

   Ta da!

Both the yellow and little white one went through multiple colors before settling into their current coat. I had no idea how easy it is to spray over mistakes or dislikes in the push of a finger…so go for it! Don’t be timid. If I can do it, anyone can. I will say, I am WAY to impulsive to wait the 10 minutes in between the “light” coats you are supposed to do. I just sprayed the shit out of them and It worked. Molly was much more patient with it. She did the little Buddha you see in the left hand corner, as well as helped me with mine. I also did 4 frames for a project I am doing in our home office (I am sure a future post).

I really encourage everyone to repurpose something with spraypaint…instant gratification! Happy painting!

2 thoughts on “Holy, spray paint!

Leave a Reply

