Day 4: Confession #4 (tiping the scales)

I will never forget being at my 18 week doctor’s appointment (with my first) stepping on the scale and hearing, “Wow, you have only gained 3 pounds…you are the poster child for weight gain.” This was really great news since I was eating WHATEVER I wanted, WHENEVER I wanted. I thought, YES! Now I know I can eat this way and still look fabulous. WRONG! After that appointment I started gaining between 3-5 every other week, and towards the end, I was gaining a solid 5 pounds a week. Needless to say, the doctor, and myself, were in utter disbelief. I mean, how was I gaining so much weight? It couldn’t be the weekly In-N-Out Burger trips, and the cupcake (or two) I was eating EVERYDAY (no joke, btw). I had been eating those culinary specialties the first 18 weeks and wasn’t gaining weight so rapidly. Well, take it from me, it will catch up to (unless you are a freakishly lucky biotch). I am a firm believer that you shouldn’t diet while pregnant, and you should indulge (a little) because this is your one chance… but proceed with caution. It is a lot easier to lose 30 pounds then it is 50. My sister did warn me on this one (she is one of those freakishly lucky biotches, btw), but for some reason I sped up at the yellow light, running right through the red (much like my binge drinking episodes). By the time I delivered (at 39 weeks), I had gained almost 50 LB’s. I looked like Ashley, who ate Ashley….see for yourself

This is my husband and I leaving for the hospital to deliver my daughter. I mean, GEEZ! This is not cute. I was so swollen and puffy, but at the time, I really thought I looked good. I even posted this picture on Facebook. What the heck was I thinking? Must have been the pregnancy glow blinding me.

With my son, I didn’t crave cupcakes, THANK GOD (the last pregnancy cost me my body, and my first ever cavities). However, I did crave In-N-Out, anything pork, and beer (not that I had one)… I knew it was a boy before the CVS results told me so. What girl wants to eat pork everyday, doesn’t want sweets, and wants to down a beer with every meal? Okay, I can think of a few, but you know what I mean. For me, everything in life is literal. I did manage to still gain 40 pounds with him, but I carried it much better (says, me). You be the judge…

I am no Angelina Jolie, but I don’t look like I just ate myself, a basketball maybe?

I have heard, that after 30 pounds of weight gain during a pregnancy you are more likely to get stretch marks. I don’t know how much truth there is to that. I actually think genetics plays a role, and maybe there is something to be said for the Palmer’s cocoa butter collection. All I know, is I got stretch marks the DAY BEFORE I delivered my daughter. FML…you apparently are not in the clear until you deliver the baby. Who, knew? I was not diligent at putting any creams on (other than self-tanner), and no other female in my family got them, so who the F knows. Life is a gamble. I usually loose at that too. Bottom line, you are never safe. Just enjoy the ride!

To read more about “the things you wish someone told you about pregnancy and motherhood” click here.

4 thoughts on “Day 4: Confession #4 (tiping the scales)

Leave a Reply

