Day 11: Confession #11 (Love at first…)

I have never been a big believer in love at first sight. I definitely did not have it for my husband, and trust me, he is very easy on the eyes and would be especially popular in the Bear G-A-Y community. Instead, it was a love that developed from a mutually co-dependant friendship we developed over our cohabitation as roommates (college, that is). I never imagined, that day I first saw him in our Psychology 101 class, that I would one day share a home with him, have 2 kids together, and love him more than anything, even despite his flaws (which we both, have many). I feel like this is a more normal way to fall in love with someone. However, the media, movies, and hopeless romantics make you think that instantaneous love is somehow better. When it comes to your baby, you should definitely feel it from the moment you lay your eyes on them, right? Wrong. If it did for you, then fantastic. Now before you deem me a miserable human being, let me explain. Like me, you will feel a strong connection with them, and you will think they are adorable, despite their flaws (not all babies can truly be the most beautiful, remember that) and be so relieved and grateful they are finally here in this world. However, for myself, I did not truly feel that overwhelming love until my daughter was 2-weeks-old. I even remember the exact moment it happened. My mother-in-law was holding her and she turned her head and looked at me, and my heart melted. It was then, and only then, that I realized that I had not already had that crazy love for her. Again, like any (healthy) relationship, love grows stronger, and more real over time. Why should it be any different when it comes to your child? Again, for some, maybe you will fall madly in love the second your baby is presented to you(although I am not sure I can trust you now). But if you don’t, please don’t worry. Nothing is wrong with you (assuming you are otherwise a nurturing human being, and a pillar of society). It will happen, and from that moment on, you will never want to imagine your life without that little bundle of joy (except on days that you swear they were the spawn of Satan and you wish you had your old life back). Just wait until you hear those coveted little words, “Mommy, I love you”, tell me then, you don’t love them even more from that first time they were placed in your arms. Love is a process, just as is parenting, enjoy every minute of it (or become bitter like me).

4 thoughts on “Day 11: Confession #11 (Love at first…)

  1. You’ve got some great quotable lines every day. My favorite today: “except on days that you swear they were the spawn of Satan and you wish you had your old life back”. HILARIOUS!

Leave a Reply

