Do ~ Buttered Nuts

magazines1

I am not a chef, by any means, but I do manage to whip something up for dinner every night (fried hotdogs and mac n cheese is one of my specialties). I do have a subscription to Cooking Light, and Fine Cooking magazines, but I never end up making much out of them, if anything at all (though I dog ear many pages). Now, with Pinterest in the mix, I find myself pinning recipes that I want to try, but like everything else, I never actually “do”. After having done a breastfeeding elimination diet, I can no longer tolerate gluten, dairy, or soy. Total bummer, I know. What this means – now it is even harder and more annoying to not only find good recipes, but to actually make them for the whole family to enjoy. Currently, I make 3 meals for every breakfast, lunch and dinner. My husband and daughter get the same, I have something different, and my FPIES son, gets one of his 4 foods in a varying form. Depressingly, I pretty much eat the same thing every day, at every meal…Bueller, Bueller. I thought I need to do something different, and something everyone (well except the boy) can enjoy.

I have recently discovered a love for peanut butter cookies, something, I never thought I would like (given I don’t like peanut butter). My mother-in-law made me some during Christmas so I actually had a dessert I could eat with the family (something she struggles with, given my new dietary restrictions). They were delicious! Now, it is my turn to do them. Buttered Nuts that is. Husband came up with this witty title btw. I think he wishes something else was taking place in the kitchen instead, but it is not our day (more on this topic to come)…sorry, dear. Now, back to the mixer you go.

I don’t have the exact recipe my mother-in-law made, so I found some on the interweb that looked good, so I altered it a bit to be more like the original (I think, anyway). Here you go…

Peanut “Buttered Nut” Cookies

Derived from Real Simple’s recipe Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups creamy (or crunchy) peanut butter
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • handful of peanuts

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350° F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment. In a large bowl, mix together the peanut butter, sugars, eggs, baking soda, vanilla extract, and salt until smooth.
  2. Crush the peanuts in a bag (or however you please) and place aside for a topping
  3. Shape the dough into balls (about 1 heaping tablespoon each) and place 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets. Using the tines of a fork, flatten each ball, creating a crisscross pattern.
  4. Sprinkle a pinch of peanuts on each cookie
  5. Bake, rotating the baking sheets halfway through, until puffed and golden, 10 to 12 minutes (the cookies will deflate as they cool). Let cool slightly on the baking sheets, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

This recipe did originate from Real Simple.com. I simply made additions to it.

They look, and taste amazing! See for yourself. I guess you will just have to trust me on the tasting part.

IMAG0691-001

Improving by “Do”-ing…not sure about the waistline though.

One thought on “Do ~ Buttered Nuts

Leave a Reply

