Do ~ Host

Today I spent the morning cleaning, sans children even! It was glorious. Not sure I would have ever used the word ‘glorious’ to describe the cleaning process pre-children, but it is. To have every room in the house clean, at the same time, is extraordinarily rare, and to do it all without interruption – heavenly.

My afternoon was spent chopping fresh herbs, potatoes, and vegetables, while drinking my new-found love, Pinot Grigo (this year is shaping up to be a wine one) and enjoying good conversation with my dad. It’s his birthday, so he was here (until a few minutes ago) celebrating casually, with us, his girlfriend, and the kiddos.

Hubby and I LOVE hosting, and I want to improve my mental health, and our relationship, by hosting more. We are a great team, and I love the comrodery it gives us, and I love spending time with family and friends in comfortable, intimate settings, which I feel, we provide.

Tonight, we even tried new recipes out of Cooking Light. How daring.  I was just talking about how I never actually cook out of the magazines we subscribe to, and guess what? It was delicious, and perfect for the occasion.

peppercorn-crusted-beef-tenderloin-gremolata-ck-l
photo by:Johnny Autry/Randy Mayor; Styling: Cindy Barr/Lindsey Lower

The menu:
Peppercorn-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Gremolata (click on it for the recipe)
Herb-Roasted Potatoes
Crisp Green Beans with Bacon
Garden Salad

Dessert:
Ikeda’s Marionberry Cobbler (Dad’s favorite)

This was really quite adventurous for us…we usually stick to recipes we know, to ensure a yummy meal, but I figured, it wasn’t too hard to screw up a meat and potatoes meal. We did not disappoint.

Anywho, days like today, just remind me of much I enjoy hosting. I need to ‘do’ it more…that simple. Friends, family, play, whatever…I’ll take it.

I bid you ado with a few photos of the birthday boy…

my dad, the cowboy!
my dad, the cowboy!
IMAG0798
Happy Birthday!
magazines1
“Improving by Do-ing”…what a concept!

 

2 thoughts on “Do ~ Host

Leave a Reply

