Do ~ Drink

Most people probably wouldn’t have “do -drink” as something to improve on…but as I am sure you have figured out by now, I am NOT most people. I think my mom and hubby will be the most excited about my vow to increase adult beverage consumption. My mom, because I think she wonders how the heck she raised a daughter who no longer drinks very much. I think she may even feel a little guilty when she partakes in a nooner , and I do not. Hubby, well, he is always trying to get me to drink to relax. One can only wonder why. Nonetheless, it is a must do for me. I need to indulge from time to time. Let my hair down (really it is still wrapped in a bun 24/7) and drink!

IMAG0826

I found these mugs today at my local thrift store (SPCA). The words “Ein Prosit der Gemütlichkeit” are from one of the most famous German beer-drinking songs…basically, it means, “a toast to good cheer!” I had no idea what the German words meant upon buying them, but for .50 cents each, I HAD to have them. If not for me, than for my father-in-law. After Googling it, I was ecstatic. It doesn’t get much better than that. I will drink to that!

Prost!
Prost!

So far, I have been off to a good start. Friday night was “Mom’s night out” and we dinned on Sushi (well, chicken for me) and cocktails (Greygoose/soda, extra lime for me) and then to went to our new local wine bar, Vini. It is this awesomely, dim-lit, self-serve wine bar, that has cozy tables to sit and chat amongst yourselves after making your tasting selection. When you arrive you put money on a card, which they provide, and voila! You are good to go. There are wine bottles in machines that you insert your card into, press the button to which wine you want, and presto, you have a perfect tasting pour, in your glass. I am sure you city folk have these types of establishments,  for our rural town, this is one of a kind. I had 4 tastings while conversing, to be quite honest, I could have had many more. I am once again, loving wine. If you know me well, you know I get obsessed over one type of alcohol, and drink only that, often times for years, before switching. When I met my hubby 11 years ago, I was a chardonnay only gal. I then went to vodka, then beer, and the champagne only, where I remained until about 2 months ago. Now, I am back to wine. I am happy to report, it is not just Chardonnay though. I have actually been loving Pinot Grigio’s and even tried some Pinot Blancs. I have never been a “red” girl, but I am hoping to one day be, so hubby and I can actually share a bottle together for once. I know, aim high, right?

Here are a few of my favs from the night…

The one in the center
The one in the center
gregory graham chardonnay in the center
Gregory Graham chardonnay in the center

It was a perfect night.

 
Last night, I had a pre-school obligation to attend to. Usually, this means there is no alcohol involved, but last night, since it was held off campus, there was. I left my house at 7:15ish and didn’t make way back until 11:00 pm. Hubby was not thrilled. I think this new found drinking, might have an adjustment period. Needless to say, I did some crafty work, had good ‘chard’, and great conversation. It feels good to let loose.

All this being said…sometimes we just need a drink. Aint nothing wrong with that…especially if you do it responsibly.

                                                           “Ein Prosit der Gemütlichkeit!”

For more on my road to recovery, click here

magazines1

Leave a Reply

