Lazy Sunday Casserole?

I realize it is not Sunday, but it will be tomorrow, so I thought you all might want to go out and buy the ingredients so you, yourself, can indulge in this delectable stew-like casserole I came across on Pinterest. Kay, from Kayotic Kitchen came up with this recipe she calls “Lazy Sunday Casserole.” I simply tried it, LOVED it, so I am sharing it with all of you.

What you need:

4 sausages (beef, pork) – you could always use chicken or perhaps tofu for you vegans
1 pound potatoes
1/2 pound carrots ( 1/2 bag of baby carrots)
1/2 bell pepper (I use a whole one)
1 large onion
1 fennel bulb
2 garlic cloves (I use more like 4 or 5)
2 tbsp oil
freshly cracked black pepper
1 1/2 tsp Italian herbs
1/2 cup chicken broth (I used beef broth because it is what I had, but I am sure veggie would work too) 
4 tbsp balsamic vinegar

IMAG1226
>Start by peeling and cutting the potatoes ( I used Yukon gold) into 4’s.

>Cut the onion, fennel bulb, and bell pepper into long thin strips.

Now if you are anything like me (a cook from a box who adds things to it, kind-of-gal), then a fennel bulb sounds more like something you use to illuminate your home then it does something you eat. Let me assure you, it is found in your local grocer’s,
IMAG1227

I got mine in a two-pack at Trader Joe’s for $1.99, and to my surprise, it is quite tasty!

>You just cut off the top, celery-stick-looky-thing, and bottom of the bulb, and continue to cut it like you would an onion.

> place all the veggies, including the carrots, in a roasting pan (or Pyrex)

IMAG1228
>preheat your oven to 450*

>mix the oil, broth, garlic (chopped or grated), and italian seasoning in a bowl.

*I would like to note that I had never “grated” garlic before this. I don’t think I will ever not, now. It is so easy, less sticky, and less hand smelly than chopping it (my garlic press crapped out on me months ago and I am too cheap to replace it). Thank you, Kayotic Kitchen for this tip! Laugh now, all your foodies who can’t believe how inept I am in the kitchen!

>pour the mixture, “witches brew,” onto the veggies and toss

>add kosher salt, and cracked pepper

>place in the pre-heated oven for 45 minutes

While your potato veggie medley is in the oven, this is the time when you brown your sausage.

> you do not cook it all the way through, just enough to brown it

>and then slice it into quarter-inch thick pieces and wait for your timer

Once the timer goes off,

>add the sausage and balsamic vinegar and cook another 20 minutes (or until the sausage and potatoes are brown)

and, voila…

Sunday Lazy Casserole
Sunday Lazy Casserole

 you have, Sunday Lazy Casserole!

Now, I will admit, for me, this is not lazy… this is ambitious, but delicious!

I made it last Sunday, and I just made it for tonight. That way, we can be lazy Sunday, and have left-overs!

Enjoy!

Who doesn’t love them a good meat and potato dish? Comfort food at its finest!

Leave a Reply

