Day 6: behind the black door ~ “delivers complexity”

Today, I took a day off from the usual way of life, to visit with friends and family. Kid-less.

It is amazing how you can focus on conversation when you are not looking in three different directions with your eyes, all the while trying to look like you are completely and utterly engaged in the conversation you are supposedly apart of.

It was dreamy.

I listened to 80s music, and turned it up as loud as my speakers could go, without sounding fuzzy (my car has seen better days). I forgot how much fun it is to sing “Purple Rain” at the top of your lungs. If you have never done it, I suggest you try it. Some 90s were thrown into the mix too.  Hootie and the Blowfish made my 45 minute drive, turn into an over an hour, because I was so enamored with the song, I missed my turn-off. Oh, well. It was totally worth it.

I got to visit with two of my besties, share some bubbly, and see the start of a new life for Annie, in her new home with her hubby. It was short, but sweet (the visit and my glass because I had to drive). I cherish the time I get with my favorite girls, so I am happy with anytime in our busy lives.

After I left Napa, I was off to my aunt and uncle’s house for a multi-birthday celebration dinner. Pretty much my entire mom’s side of the family, was born in October, so it is becoming a tradition to celebrate them ALL together.

The champagne and good wine was a flowing, as usual, and the conversation, never dull. I had to get my “say it like is” tongue somewhere, right?

My mom, poured me a glass as soon as I put my purse down, on their newly, and beautifully remodeled kitchen counter, and asked me if I was “easily approachable” or “delivers complexity?” I was like, what? Then I realized they were the available charms for my stemware so I would know which glass of champs was mine. Five years ago, I would have said “easily approachable” without even having to think about it. Now, not so much. I think I have started to lose my “approachableness” in the midst of my chaos. So, “delivers complexity” it is.
IMAG2388

Pretty fitting. Not only for the flavors, but for me too.

The meal, the wine, the company,

sister, mom's sister Lee-Ann, grandma, mom, aunt Jean, me, cousin Blair
sister, mom’s sister Lee-Ann, grandma, mom, aunt Jean, me, cousin Blair

and the cake were all perfect.

I cherish the time I have with my family, and feel so lucky to have such a close, fun and loving family, who happen to love champagne as much as I do.

I will leave with that.

Cheers!

xoxo,
Magazine Mom

circle1This post is part of a 31 day series. To read more and follow along, click here.

2 thoughts on “Day 6: behind the black door ~ “delivers complexity”

Leave a Reply

