Day 11: behind the black door ~ Pink Pussy Cat

A few weeks ago, my daughter finally decided on her Halloween costume. She no longer wanted to be Zoe Trent, or Pepper Clark, from the Littlest Pet Shop franchise. Now, she has requested to be a cat. A pink one. Given she was already a cat once, 379968_2577983492813_1165352865_n I was less than thrilled. I said to her, “even though you were a cat when you were two, I will look for a ‘unique’ pink cat costume. Her response, “or Molly could just sew me one”. Smart girl. She knows her mom can’t even thread a needle. In my defense, I haven’t actually tried since home ec., but needless to say, I wasn’t planning on making her costume. Instead, I jumped on the information super highway, to look for one I could buy.

You know what? Finding a pink cat that is not designed for the exotic erotic ball, is kind of non-existent. I searched Etsy, hoping for something there, and I found some that would ‘do’ but nothing was worth the money they were asking.

Case in point this one… il_570xN_182781167 Can you believe they want $70 for it. You have to be Oprah-rich to pay that price for a costume. I am definitely not.

The thriftier, DIY-er in me, was like, ” I could make that.” Geez, now I sound like my dad, and my husband.

So, I did. Well part of it, anyway. I bought a leotard, and ears and tail set from Target, and I found a skirt at Marshall’s. IMAG2442 I had my inspiration picture to work from, so I got to work drawing and cutting the felt pieces for the eyes, nose and mouth eye Then they were ready to be assembled… I did try several different nose versions before settling on a black one. The white one looked like an owl, but the black one didn’t look right either. IMAG2449 Don’t mind the tape, I am just doing mock-ups.

After looking at it several times, I realized it needed a mouth. Though the inspiration costume didn’t, I feel like it would look better with one.

So I added a mouth. Here is the comparison…
c1
better, right?

It still didn’t seem complete, so I added a black shirt underneath, which is not a bad idea since it is usually pretty chilly here on Halloween.

IMAG2455
Granted, I still haven’t attached the felt permanently yet, but it looks really cute. I haven’t “sealed the deal,” so to speak, because I keep thinking I can find an even cheaper leotard and skirt, which also match a little better. It kind of drives me nuts that pinks, are not purrfect. I will be scowering the thrift stores this weekend for better ones. We shall see if I can.

I will show you all the final, final, once it is on the little kitty herself.

MEOW!

Xoxo,
Magazine Mom

circle1This post is part of a 31 day series. To read more and follow along, click here.

2 thoughts on “Day 11: behind the black door ~ Pink Pussy Cat

Leave a Reply

