Day 23: behind the black door~ mood bored?

I have always wanted to do a mood board, and quite frankly, today I was bored, well just procrastinating doing the things, I SHOULD be doing, so I figured today would be the day, I would make one. I found this tutorial on the information super highway. I can’t even tell you how excited I am.

We are remodeling our master bath, and I have always wanted to make an inspiration/mood board for our design choices and ideas, but had NO idea how to do it, other than clipping magazine pictures, and gluing them on a display board. In fact, when I told hubby I was making a “mood board” he had no idea what I was talking about. When I described it, he thought it would be on poster board.

Until reading the tutorial, I completely forgot about Picasa as a photo editing option. After all, it is the program I used to make my “Magazine Mom” logo. I just haven’t used it since my recent Picmonkey obsession…but wow, is it user-friendly.

I searched google images for products that I know we have purchased for our bathroom, and things similar to what hubby will be making himself. He is a master craftsman, and vexingly, has to make everything, himself. Sigh. I guess that is why this bathroom has been demoed for almost 3 years, and has been ‘actively’ being remodeled for about two. But really, almost nothing has happened since before my son was born in January of last year. In fact, if anything it has regressed. Hubby ripped out the new wall, to put in a ‘tankless’ toilet (which he got at a garage sale brand-new for $10), only to discover he would have to re-plumb the main sewer line and reframe both bathrooms, since they share a wall. Now, there is just a very large whole in the wall to remind us of ‘what could have been.’
IMAG2630

The space is small. Really small. Bigger than my shoe, but not by much. We pushed out the wall into our bedroom to gain about 2 feet, which helps, but we had to sacrifice bedroom space in the process.

IMAG2631

I am okay with it. I don’t need much room to sleep. Really.

The shower is the part of this renovation, that I am most excited about.  Besides wanting to use the rain shower, I designed a unique-chic shampoo nook that I am very proud of. Instead of a standard rectangular, vertical one, I decided I wanted a horizontal one instead. I think it is a neat design element, and the glass accent tiles we choose, are going to make for that extra pop and pizazz I am going for.
IMAG2632
To get myself, and hubby pumped for the completion of this ongoing project, I think a mood board is the perfect idea. Plus, once I blog it, it has to happen. Right?

After following the simple instructions on the tutorial, I came up with this…

1563

bath

PicMonkey Collage

Again, these are not all elements we are using, but a general idea of the feel and look we are going for.

What do you think?

Hopefully this post, will ignite the embers of the hot coal that has been burning under my hubby’s butt for nearly three years.

But like I always say, contractors families (especially the wives), are a LOT like the cobblers kids with no shoes.

I am still holding out for my Louboutin’s.

I will not be holding my breath. You shouldn’t be either.

Xoxo,
the contractor’s wife (Magazine Mom)

circle1

this post is part of a 31 day series. To read more, and follow along, click here.

5 thoughts on “Day 23: behind the black door~ mood bored?

Leave a Reply

