Day 28: behind the black door~ refueled

As I just walked into the door from my {preschool} board meeting with more energy than I have had in weeks, it donned on me. I recharge, get fueled, through adult conversation and interaction. Hubby has been telling me this for years, and I never thought anything of it, until yesterday when my dear friend, Nicole, and fellow 31 day challenge blogger, asked the very question to her readers.

So, what about you? What are the activities that really make you feel refreshed? That fuel you instead of draining you? Are they all “producing” or “neutral” activities, or do “consuming” activities help you relax, too?

Of course, the question makes more sense if you read her post, but it is incredibly insightful.

What activities do you do that fuel you and maintain “internal order?”

For her, it is journaling or creating.

For me, to quote my response to her question, “I think having good conversations makes me feel refreshed, as well as doing (creating, writing, drinking (lol)…etc.)”

The other day, hubby said that maybe I should get a ‘real job’ because I thrive on adult interaction. He quickly rebuttaled, “Oh, never mind, you are so tortured by not being with the kids, that it just wouldn’t work.”

Clearly he is right, but there has to be a better way.

Light bulb.

I just need to spend more time with adults, especially ones I like. You know, see my friends who I adore, or at the very least talk to them on the phone (I LOVE talking), have some dates with my hubby, connect with like-minded people without a toddler attached to my leg.

Duh!

So, in 4 days, I will be making this a priority. I already have, by sending an email to my mommy group for a new twist to our monthly night outs. To insure, months go by without a night out, I asked us all to choose a month in the year to ‘host’ that months evening. When it is your turn, you can either host it at your house, or chose the restaurant. It is perfect.

Now, I will be creating another one, for my besties.

I will also be adding “get a sitter” to the top of my to-do list that has been collecting dust for the last 28 days, so hubby and I can have more than three date night/days a year. Ahem.

I am thankful for the awareness of knowing what I need for fueling my mental happiness. Thank you, Nicole, and hubby.
PicMonkey Collage5

This is good stuff.

Xoxo,
Magazine Mom

circle1

This post is part of a 31 day blog challenge. To read more and follow along, click here.

2 thoughts on “Day 28: behind the black door~ refueled

  1. Thanks for the kind words about my post. I agree with the adult conversation – totally recharges. When 31 Days is over, we need to get our nap time chats back!

Leave a Reply

