Home Cooking Meal Momma

Last Friday night, was monthly mom’s night out. We all host a month throughout the year, where we can choose to host at our home or pick the restaurant. This month, my dear friend Suzanne hosted us at her beautiful home. She made us all a delicious home cooked meal, served us tantalizing basil infused lemon vodka drinks. Mmm… they were refreshing. I say, “they” because I had a few too many, stayed until 2 in the morning and am just now feeling back to ‘normal’ and it is Monday.

Needless to say, the drinks and the company were amazing.

Suzanne, Nicole and me
Suzanne, Nicole and me (looking not so cute)

So was the view from her backyard.

g

We were all to bring either an appetizer or dessert of our liking.  I choose, dessert.
Lately, well since I was pregnant with ‘the girl’ (5 years ago) I could eat a cupcake everyday. Mind you, I do not. But I very well could. Since all of us mommies have some dietary restriction (I know, lame), I went to a local cupcake shop and got an array of goodies, gluten sugar-free, vegan and full of everything, things.

Truth be told, I think I ate almost all them self around midnight.

My friend Nicole, and fellow blogger, brought a simple, and super delicious appetizer. A gluten-free baguette, sliced into rounds mildly toasted with a hint of olive oil. For the dipping sauce, basil pesto in a jar from Costco.

e
this one!

Easy peasy, and delicious.

Seriously. It was (is) AMAZING. So much so, that I went to Costco at the first chance I had (today) to buy it.

Really. It’s that good.

Since Nicole reminded me about boiling chicken (since I cannot touch or handle it do to an unrealistic odd phobia I developed in my teens) the other day during our Ikea playdate with our kiddos, I have been a Home Cooking Meal Momma (self-proclaimed)!

Hubby even said, “Wow, two homemade meals in a row!? Is this because you hung out with Nicole?”

Me: “Well, I guess so.”

Tonight it makes 3. Thanks to Nicole.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I boiled some boneless skinless frozen chicken breast (somehow this is less repulsive) for 30 minutes. Give or take a few.

Afterward, I chopped it length wise then in half.

I boiled some Trader Joe’s gluten-free corn penne pasta (my favorite gluten-free brand).

Added some (half the bag) Trader Joe’s sun-dried tomatoes (Julienne cut)

Poured half of the jar (could have used the whole jar, but I am savoring it) of pesto over it all and mixed it together. You aren’t even supposed to heat the pesto. You simply bring it to room temperature for 10-15 minutes before you use it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It is the perfect hearty summertime pasta.

photo 1

Not too hot, and it will be fabulous cold tomorrow for lunch.

I feel obliged to say it was not kid approved in our house. In the pasta’s defense, I have an incredibly picky 5-year-old and a 2 year-old with FPIES, who can only eat 13 food/ingredients.

Instead they gorged themselves on spinach chips I made. I great tip I got from a fellow FPIES mom.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Simply lay gobs (handfuls) of spinach on a baking sheet ( I use a drying rack for a crispier texture).

Brush with an oil of your choice or what is safe in our case, which is grape seed oil.

Sprinkle with sea salt

bake @ 350 for 10-12 minutes.

ta-da!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Seriously, easy and so delicious!

I love them too.

I even got a big thumbs up from ‘the boy’

d a

c

They could not get enough!

Elle: “Mom, you make the best lettuce!”
Me: giggling, ” Thanks sweetie.”

It was messy, but fun to watch my whole family devour something together. Even it we all weren’t feasting on the same thing.

Enjoy.

Xoxo,
Magazine Mom

One thought on “Home Cooking Meal Momma

Leave a Reply

