Namaste

Yesterday, I posted on Facebook a picture of my two kiddos sitting ‘close’ together at a park with the caption, “It was a good day.”

20140625-125009-46209462.jpg

I realized after receiving 51 likes and 7 comments (but who’s counting?) I need to celebrate those ‘good’ days, well heck, even ‘good’ moments more often. Lets be honest, sometimes they are far and few between.

Well, unless you are living in the magical make-believe world where your children are the best behaved, angelic little beings who only bring you joy with every waking moment of your life, while prancing along side the unicorns, and flying with the tooth fairy, then you should relish in those moments too.

Right?

Part of me started blogging (if you can call it that) to have documented proof that my children are not perfect. If I hear one more time that I never whinned or had a tantrum, I am going to throw myself to the floor and scream.

I love you mom, but I really just find this statement hard to believe. I mean, have you met me? I am a whiner now and I definitely throw my fair share of tantrums. I am pretty sure these traits did not develop when I went away to college.

I know this for certain, because it was there that I perfected my OCD skills. There is no way I had the time or energy to learn  how to whine, throw tantrums, and obsess over the placement of my knick knacks, all while obtaining my cum-laude collegiate education. It’s simply impossible.

All I know, is today, I relished in a few ‘great moments’ with my kiddos that I felt the need to document. After all, it can’t always be bad.

My favorite moment (1 min and 49 seconds to be exact) of everyday happens while listening to the Frozen soundtrack in my car and watching (in my rear view mirror) and listening to BOTH my kids sing and laugh together to the “Frozen Heart” song. ‘The boy’ is hilarious as he very astutely slaps is hands down on his lap as if he too is chiseling and heaving ice blocks, and yells out “Ho” and “Go” every time they say,

Hup! Ho!
Watch your step!
Let it go!

and both of the kiddos giggle after they yell,
stronger than a hundred men! HO!

Really. It makes my whole day.

For that moment, I join the leprechaun’s at the end of the rainbow in the magical world of make-believe.

Then today, a rare occasion where we all got to exercise and relax together (for about 58 seconds) at a free mom/kid yoga class at a local yoga studio here in Davis.

20140625-122852-44932259.jpg 20140625-122851-44931861.jpg 20140625-122851-44931529.jpg

Though chaotic, it was much more relaxing than being in a dressing room (pretty unsuccessfully) trying on 13 swimsuits at TJ Maxx with both children was. Though I did manage to find one that was less offensive than the others.

Thankfully, I did that before yoga.

Although the kids found relaxation in that too.

20140625-122852-44932603.jpg

Namaste.

Xoxo,
Magazine Mom

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Namaste

  1. What parents want most is for their children to love each other unconditionally, just because. And it makes us happy to see then get along, even only for a few Minutes each day.. =)

Leave a Reply

