What ’tis season has taught me…

1. Shopping early can really bite you in the butt. I forgot where I put half my stuff I was “hiding” and ended up over buying for some, and under buying for others. Let’s just say, for the first time ever, I shopped Christmas Eve.

2. Children 8 and under really do not notice if Santa wrapped their gifts in different paper than their parents did, despite having made a frantic last minute trip to the dollar store to buy 6 rolls of paper that I only used half of one.
I even went as far as printing these adorable tags from The Idea Room blog

image from The Idea Room
image from theidearoom.net

I must say, everyone got a kick out of my hubby’s tag with “naughty” checked on his label attached to a bottle of booze.

“That Santa, sure knows what everyone likes,” says my daughter upon discovering the gift to “Brandon.”

3. The dreaded words “some assembly required” are really dreadful. Especially, when it is in such small print you don’t notice, but your almost three-year-old insists on opening it up and playing with it immediately. Frantically, I do my best ‘assembly’ before having to bring out the big guns. Brandon.

4. You can never have too much champagne. I mean available bottles.  I definitely have had too many glasses in one occasion a time or two. In fact, this holiday season I may have needed to be carried through the house threshold and not by my husband in a romantic gesture. Let’s just say their was some praying the next day to the “Kohler God.”

5. Whole Foods really puts on a delicious spread. Due to some last minute unforeseen circumstances, we ended up ordering our Christmas Eve meal from Whole Foods. I didn’t know what to expect, but for the price and the convenience of it, I might consider it to be a new family tradition. For once, I got to sit with my family and have a whole conversion prior to the meal being served. Who knew life could be so simple.

6. My favorite part of presents, is watching peoples faces when they open them up. Most of the time because I love seeing the joy  that it brings to them. This year, watching my son rip open half a gift upon being utterly repulsed by what lay beneath the paper, and throwing it, was pretty classic too. I am sure, I missed some amazing parent teaching moment about manners, blah, blah, blah, but it was too entertaining to think about that in the moment. Next year, I will give him the “smile and say thank you no matter what you think” speech.

7. You can’t judge a present by its ‘wrap job.’ I say this because I recently discovered using a brown lunch bag folded over with two punch holes and an adorable ribbon through it, is a pretty fantastically clever way to wrap odd size/shaped gifts. I can say, they were not the first to be grabbed by their recipeints, but what was inside them all but made up for it 🙂

I got a dose of my own medicine, when hubby brought out my gift wrapped in a bargain ad from that days newspaper. It was heavy as heck, so I figured he wrapped up some old bricks we have laying around as a joke. Boy, was I surprised to find my very own tool box, filled with all the ‘necessary’ tools inside the bargain meat section. To clarify, by necessary, I mean picture hanging supplies, screw drivers, etc.

PicMonkey Collage

I guess all my annoyed voice phone calls asking him where the screw driver is, the nails, hammer etc., finally made this contractor realize his wife needs some to call her own.

It’s about time!

But really, it was probably my favorite gift this year. This says a lot considering I got a new refrigerator and a Dyson vacuum.

8. Family really does come first. Friends being a very close second, of course. I miss my friends this holiday season, but I have really enjoyed the added family time, especially the nightly driving around looking at Christmas lights, seeing Elf the musical in San Francisco, attending 3 family Christmas parties, and lots of singing Christmas music. My daughter loves holiday music so much, I think we might be in detox mode right now.

9. I really shouldn’t have eat that second plate of food {every time}. Wow, my pants are tight. I have been on a binge. Truly. I will not be cliché and say I am starting a new years resolution, but I will say I am going to give the “clean eating” phenomenon a try come 2015. I will keep you posted on that {inset eye roll here}. Unfortunately my favorite food on the planet is potato chips and all things processed really. Damn you sister for inheriting the “I like to eat healthy foods” gene and the metabolism of a small child!

10. Checking the mail everyday is as exciting as Christmas morning. I can’t wait to see the Christmas cards! If you do not currently send me your families card, you should. It is a ray of sun shine in my day, and even more so for my hubby. Truth be told, I open them up in pure excitement and put them back in the mailbox, because Hubby looks forward to it even more than me. I wouldn’t dare rob him of that.

P.S.  I do keep a list. You will receive one from my family as long as I do yours.

P.P.S.  I am only slightly joking.

Here’s to the season! Happy New year, everyone!

Xoxo,
Magazine Mom

 

 

4 thoughts on “What ’tis season has taught me…

  1. Love your tool box! And… I am grateful for the photo card every year, I look forward to it even though I don’t send one to you 🙂
    Happy New Year
    Love you lady!!
    XOXO

Leave a Reply

